2015-16 Men's Basketball • 2015-16 Men's Basketball

#### 2016 SEC Tournament

March 9-13

Bridgestone Arena • Nashville, Tenn.

The Southeastern Conference Men's Basketball Tournament returns to Bridgestone Arena in Nashville in 2016. It will be the sixth time that the arena has served as the host of the SEC Tournament, having also hosted in 2001, 2006, 2010, 2013 and 2015. Also the home of the NHL's Nashville Predators, Bridgestone Arena has the distinction of being one of the busiest venues in the Unites States over the past de-



cade and a half, hosting more than 18 million guests during that time. Seating capacity is approximately 19,395 for basketball games.

The winner of the 13-game tournament receives the SEC's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The tournament seeds are determined by the 18-game conference schedule during the regular season. Teams are seeded 1-14 based on their regular season conference finish.

Atlanta served as host of the inaugural SEC Tournament played following the 1932-33 season and did so again after the 1933-34 season. The event was held every year through 1952, with the exception of 1935. After a 26-year layoff (1953-78), the tournament was renewed in 1979. The 2016 tournament will be the 57th in league history and the 38th since the renewal.

The SEC has shown extraordinary balance in the tournament, evidenced by the fact that a different school won the first seven titles after the renewal. The event has helped set the stage for SEC teams in the NCAA Tournament, as 23 of the tournament champions since the tournament resumed in 1979 have advanced to at least the Sweet 16. Three of the last 10 SEC Tournament champions have gone on to win the national championship. Since the renewal in 1979, the SEC Tournament Champion has failed to win at least one NCAA Tournament game only four times.

Kentucky leads the league with 28 SEC Tournament titles. Alabama is second with six, while Tennessee and Florida are tied for third with four. Mississippi State has three championship trophies while Georgia, Ole Miss and Vanderbilt have two. Arkansas, Auburn, LSU and former league member Georgia Tech have each won one SEC Tournament championship.

### FIRST ROUND - March 9 (Wednesday)

Game 1 #12 Tennessee vs. #13 Auburn [SEC Network] 7:00 p.m. CT

### SECOND ROUND - March 10 (Thursday)

	\ 17	
Game 2	#8 Florida vs. #9 Arkansas [SEC Network]	Noon CT
Game 3	Game 1 Winner vs. #5 Vanderbilt [SEC Network]	25 min after G2
Game 4	#70le Miss vs. #10 Alabama [SEC Network]	6:00 p.m. CT
Game 5	#6 Georgia vs. #11 Miss. State [SEC Network]	25 min after G4

### QUARTERFINALS - March 11 (Friday)

Game 6	Game 2 Winner vs. #1 Texas A&M [SEC Network]	Noon CT
Game 7	Game 3 Winner vs. #4 LSU [SEC Network]	25 min after G6
Game 8	Game 4 Winner vs. #2 Kentucky [SEC Network]	6:00 p.m. CT
Game 9	Game 5 Winner vs. #3 S. Carolina [SEC Network]	25 min after G8

# SEMIFINALS - March 12 (Saturday)

Game 10	Game 6 Winner vs. Game 7 Winner [ESPN]	Noon CT
Game 11	Game 8 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner [ESPN]	25 min after G10

# FINALS - March 13 (Sunday)

Game 12 Game 10 Winner vs. Game 11 Winner [ESPN] Noon CT

# **Future SEC Tournament Dates and Sites**

TOTOLO OLO IDOLLIANIONI D'ALCO ANIA CITOS		
March 9-13, 2016 – Nashville, Tenn.	March 10-14, 2021 – Nashville, Tenn.	
March 8-12, 2017 – Nashville, Tenn.	March 9-13, 2022 – Tampa, Fla.	
March 7-11, 2018 – St. Louis, Mo.	March 8-12, 2023 – Nashville, Tenn.	
March 13-17, 2019 – Nashville, Tenn.	March 13-17, 2024 – Nashville, Tenn.	
March 11-15, 2020 – Nashville, Tenn.	March 12-16, 2025 – Nashville, Tenn.	

The Road To Nashville (as of March 5)

Seeding		ding	Record	Games Remainin	
	1.	^ Texas A&M	13-5		
	2.	^ Kentucky	13-5		
	3.	#South Carolina	11-7		
	4.	#LSU	11-7		
	5.	#Vanderbilt	11-7		
	6.	&Georgia	10-8		
	7.	&Ole Miss	10-8		
	8.	%Florida	9-9		
	9.	%Arkansas	9-9		
	10.	%Alabama	8-10		
	11.	Mississippi State	7-11		
	12.	Tennessee	6-12		
	13.	Auburn	5-13		
	14.	Missouri*	3-15		
^—Texas A&M is 1st and Kentucky is 2nd					
2A. Texas A&M won the only head-to-head meeting					
	#—South Carolina is 3rd, LSU is 4th, Vanderbilt is 5th				

3A. Record vs. tied teams

LS - 0-1 vs. SC, 1-0 vs. VU = 1-1 SC - 1-0 vs. LS, 1-0 vs. VU = 2-0 VU - 0-1 vs. LS, 0-1 vs. SC = 0-2

&-Georgia is 6th and Ole Miss is 7th

2A. The two teams split their two regular season meetings

2B. Won-lost record vs. No. 1 seed...

No. 1 Texas A&M - UG is 0-1, UM is 0-1 No. 2 Kentucky - UG is 0-1, UM is 0-1 No. 3 South Carolina - UG is 2-0, UM is 0-1

5—Florida is 8th and Arkansas is 9th

2A. Florida won the only head-to-head meeting \*ineligible for postseason

### **SEC Tournament Tie-Breaker Procedures**

Teams will be seeded No. 1 through No. 14 in the SEC Men's Basketball Tournament bracket based upon the final regular season Conference standings. Teams that finished No. 1 through No. 4 in the final regular season standings shall receive first- and second-round byes and teams that finish No. 5 through No. 10 will receive first-round byes in the SEC Men's Basketball Tournament.

1. Two-Team Tie. The following procedure will be used in the following order until the tie is broken:

A. Won-lost results of head-to-head competition between the two teams.

B. Won-lost record of the two teams versus the No. 1 seed (and proceeding through the No. 14 seed, if necessary).

C. Coin flip by the Commissioner.

**2. Three-Team Tie (or more).** When three or more teams are tied, the following procedure will be used in the following order until the tie is broken. If two teams remain tied after a tiebreaker provision, the two-team tiebreaker formula will be used.

A. Best winning percentage of games played among the tied teams (Example: Team A is 3-1, Team B is 2-2 and Team C is 1-3 – Team A would be seeded highest, Team B second-highest and Team C lowest of the three).

B. Best winning percentage of the tied teams versus the No. 1 seed (and proceeding through the No. 14 seed, if necessary).

C. If two teams remain, coin flip by the Commissioner.

D. If three or more teams remain, draw by the Commissioner.

For the purpose of seeding, if an institution is precluded from participating in the tournament, such institution will automatically be seeded last. The No. 11 seed will then receive a bye. However, for the purpose of breaking ties, that team will remain where it finished in the regular-season standings BEFORE being seeded last.